AwardsNational SquadsAge Swimmer of the Year Award

Champion Josh

The Swimming WA Age Swimmer of the Year is awarded to the resident Western Australian swimmer, substantively aged between thirteen (13) years and eighteen (17) years (Female) and fourteen (14) years and eighteen (18) years (Male) who returns the most outstanding performance during the defined period (1 May to 30 April).

Joshua Edwards-Smith (UWA-West Coast, c: Michael Shaw) has once again been named the Age Swimmer of the Year for 2020. After a stellar season which saw him represent Australia at the 2019 FINA World Junior Swimming Championships, Edwards-Smith has well and truly put his name forward as one of Australia’s most exciting up and comers.

Although a very promising season was cut short for Edwards-Smith and swimmers around Australia, the UWA-West Coast youngster was still able to perform on an extremely high level including lowering his 200m Backstroke National Record at the 2019 Queensland State Championships in December.

Edwards-Smith joined Kalani Ireland (Perth City, c: Matt Magee), Josh Yong (UWA-West Coast, c: Michael Palfery, WAIS) and Alyssa Burgess (Arena, c: Simon Redmond) at the World Junior Championships showcasing a bright future for WA Swimming. Edwards-Smith stood up under the bright lights, swimming in the semi-final of the 100m Backstroke and the final on the 4x100m Freestyle Relay and 4x100m Medley Relay.

With the Tokyo 2021 Olympics looming, you can’t help but feel the excitement for Edwards-Smith as he aims to take the next step in his career and continue his fine form.

Source: Swimming WA

uwa west coast swimming club

be part of an inclusive, supportive and welcoming club


Don't miss our latest news and meet reports.

Swimming WA
Pharmacy 777
Bruce Insurance
Swimming Australia
Acknowledgement of Country

UWA West Coast Swimming Club acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.